The 2022 PONY Award Winners

Welcome to the fifth PONY Awards! We are so pleased to be back after missing a couple of years due to COVID. Here is a look at this year's winners.

The Joseph Blandisi Award: (Fan Favourite)

The Joseph Blandisi Award; is selected by Barrie Colts fans in a vote. This year, we are pleased to have had over 6,000 votes. Your winner is Declan McDonnell, who earned 36% of the votes. Congratulations, Declan!

Previous Winners:
2020: Aidan Brown
2019: Riley Piercey
2018: Justin Murray
2017: Justin Murray

The Dale Hawerchuk Award: (Fan Favourite Colts Alumni | NHL)

This season we introduced a new award, the Dale Hawerchuk Award. Another fan vote is presented to the most famous former Barrie Colts in the NHL that season. The first-ever winner of the award is Andrew Mangiapane of the Calgary Flames.

The Colin Behenna Award: (Most Improved)

The Colin Behenna Award; is presented to the Barrie Colts' that showed the most improvement since the previous season. This year's winner is defenceman Ian Lemieux. Lemieux positioned himself as a top-four defenceman on the team and proved to be a reliable player on the team. Congratulations on a strong season, Ian!

Previous Winners:
2020: Tyson Foerster
2019: Mathew Hill
2018: Jaden Peca
2017: Lucas Chiodo

The Lucas Chiodo Award: (Most Sportsmanlike)

The Lucas Chiodo Award; is presented to the Barrie Colts player who shows the most discipline during the regular season. This year's winner is rookie Hunter Haight who served 13 minutes in 63 games.

Previous Winners:
2020: Evan Vierling
2019: Ryan Suzuki
2018: Ryan Suzuki
2017: Award Not Presented Yet

The Kevin Labanc Award: (Best on Penalty Kill)

For the first time in the history of the PONY Awards, there is a tie! We were torn deciding on who the best penalty killer was so your winners are Evan Vierling and Ethan Cardwell. Congratulations on sharing the first award in the show's history!

Previous Winners:
2020: Luke Bignell

The Luch Nasato Award: (Hardest/Best Hitter)

This season's hardest hitter was Connor Punnett making him only the third player to win the award in its fourth year. Punnett consistently throwing around big hits this season, landing him his first award. Congratulations, Connor!

Previous Winners:
2020: Aidan Brown
2019: Tyler Tucker
2018: Tyler Tucker
2017: Award Not Presented Yet

The Aaron Ekblad Award: (Rookie of the Year)

This season's rookie of the year award; was presented to Beau Jelsma! This was another close vote, but Beau ended up taking home the Aaron Ekblad Award. Jelsma finished the season with 27 goals and 20 assists.

Previous Winners:

2020: Brandt Clarke
2019: Jet Greaves
2018: Andrei Svechnikov
2017: Tyler Tucker

The Mark Scheifele Award: (Most Valuable Player)

The Mark Scheifele Award, presented to the most valuable player is being awarded to a goalie for the first time! Congratulations to Mack Guzda on becoming the fifth player to win the MVP Award!

Previous Winners:
2020: Tyson Foerster
2019: Ryan Suzuki
2018: Aaron Luchuk
2017: Anthony Stefano


Post a Comment