#OHL 2014-15 Award Finalists: How did the @OHLBarrieColts do?

Yesterday the OHL announced its list of players/coaches who are nominated for the 7 major awards that are decided for after the regular season. For the complete list you can see it here: OHL Announces 2014-15 Award Finalists

Two Barrie Colts earned nominations over 3 of the 7 awards presented to players/coaches for their performance and contributions over the regular season.

Joseph Blandisi is up for the Leo Lalonde Memorial Trophy (Overage Player of the Year) as well as the Red Tilson Trophy (Most Outstanding Player of the Year). If Blandisi wins the Leo Lalonde it would make him the first Colt to win the award since the 2009-10 season when Bryan Cameron won. If he wins the Red Tilson Trophy it would make him the first Barrie Colt to win the award. Last winner of the award for a Barrie team was Gil Mayer who won the award with the Barrie Flyers in the 1948-49 season.

 Rasmus Andersson is up for the Max Kaminsky Trophy (Defenseman of the Year). If Andersson wins the award it would make him the 3rd Colt in team history to win. The last time the Colts won you have to go ALL THE WAY BACK to last season when Aaron Ekblad won the award. The other winner was Eric Reitz who won in the 2001-02 season.

Here is a look at a breakdown of the 3 awards that the players are up for with the list of other candidates.

Overage Player of the Year / Leo Lalonde Memorial Trophy Finalists:

Joseph Blandisi (Barrie Colts)
Erik Bradford (Owen Sound Attack)
Chris Carlisle (Oshawa Generals)
Jean Dupuy (Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds)
Marcus McIvor (North Bay Battalion)
Jake Paterson (Kitchener Rangers)

Defenceman of the Year / Max Kaminsky Trophy Finalists:

Rasmus Andersson (Barrie Colts)
Chris Bigras (Owen Sound Attack)
Jakob Chychrun (Sarnia Sting)
Anthony DeAngelo (Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds)
Brenden Miller (North Bay Battalion)
Jordan Subban (Belleville Bulls)

Most Outstanding Player of the Year / Red Tilson Trophy Finalists:

Barrie – Joseph Blandisi
Belleville – Charlie Graham
Erie – Connor McDavid
Guelph – Tyler Bertuzzi
Kingston – Lucas Peressini
Kitchener – Ryan MacInnis
London – Max Domi
Mississauga – Sam Babintsev
Niagara – Carter Verhaeghe
North Bay – Nick Paul
Oshawa – Cole Cassels
Ottawa – Dante Salituro
Owen Sound – Zach Nastasiuk
Peterborough – Matt Mancina
Plymouth – Alex Nedeljkovic
Saginaw – Connor Brown
Sarnia – Jakob Chychrun
Sault Ste. Marie – Anthony DeAngelo
Sudbury – Kyle Capobianco
Windsor – Trevor Murphy
Congratulations to both Joseph Blandisi and Rasmus Anderson on the nominations and good luck!

For the complete list go to OHL Announces 2014-15 Award Finalists


Post a Comment