A quick look at the OHL U-18 Priority Selection Draft. #OHL

This Wednesday the OHL is set to host its Under 18 Priority Selection Draft.

Image result for barrie coltsWhat is the U-18 Priority Selection? Basically, it is a second chance for players to make the OHL. The leagues idea is that some players take more time to develop their game. For the players a year, or two after their OHL Draft year, this allows them to continue to continue to develop their game at other Ontario hockey federations (OHF, HEO, HNO) and extend another opportunity at cracking a spot in the OHL.

Who is eligible? Canadian and American midget players (1999/2000 birth year for 2017 draft) not playing on an OHL member team protected list who were carded with an Ontario based Midget AAA Hockey Club within the OHF, HEO, or HNO in the current season.

How does the U-18 Selection work? The Draft is 4 rounds long and will follow the same draft order of the 2017 OHL Priority Selection from this past weekend. Order is as follows.

1. Barrie                                                                                                              
2. Guelph                                                                                                           
3. North Bay                                                                                                      
4. Saginaw                                                                                                         
5. Niagara                                                                                                           
6. Sudbury                                                                                                         
7. Ottawa                                                                                                           
8. Sarnia                                                                                                              
9. Flint                                                                                                 
10. Hamilton                                                                                                     
11. Kingston                                                                                                      
12. Kitchener                                                                                                    
13. Mississauga                                                                                                
14. Oshawa                                                                                                       
15. Peterborough                                                                                                           
16. Windsor                                                                                                       
17. London                                                                                                        
18. S.S. Marie                                                                                                    
19. Owen Sound                                                                                                              
20. Erie

All 4 rounds will follow the exact same order. To help see more goalies get drafted, the OHL has included a rule where any team who selects a goalie with one of their 4 picks will be added to a 5th round at the end where they will get the chance to draft another player. The order of that round will follow the same structure of the previous rounds, including only teams who selected a goaltender. The final selection in that 5th round can only be a skater.

After selecting 14 players at Priority Selection on Saturday, including Ryan Suzuki, this will give the Colts a chance to bring in 4 (or 5) new players. 

The 2017 U-18 Priority Selection is set to take place on Wednesday, April 12th at 7:00 pm over the official OHL website. You can follow the draft on the site, as well as on social media. 


Post a Comment